Caterham Academy Creates 1000Th New Racing Driver
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
By: Caterham

Caterham Academy Creates 1000Th New Racing Driver  Caterham's acclaimed Academy Championship has reached a huge new milestone with the arrival of its 1000th Motorsport competitor.

Established in 1995, the Caterham Academy, open only to complete racing novices, has long been regarded as one of the world's most cost-effective and exciting entry points to the world of motor racing.

Featuring consistently sold-out grids every year – already, only a small handful of places remain for the 2018 championship – the Academy takes novices through the process of gaining their coveted race licence, as well as their first full season of competition alongside 200 other racers registered for Caterham championships this season.

London based, James de Lusignan, was the 1000th driver to sign up for the programme and will make his competition debut at the season-opening sprint event at Aintree on April 22nd.

Caterham Academy Creates 1000Th New Racing Driver  

De Lusignan, 30, has thrown himself fully into the ethos of the Academy, building his matte black and luminous orange 2017 Academy car from scratch. His car's livery will also feature a special 1000th Academy logo to commemorate the occasion.

He said: 'The anticipation of kick-starting my racing career was already exciting enough but, to find out I'm the 1000th driver, is an intriguing addition.

'Not only am I going to be racing on track with my own bespoke livery, but I've also got the pride of having the 1000th Academy decal, which I'm sure will spur me on to complete a few extra overtakes, as well as making me a target for other drivers.'

The Academy is the first rung on a five-tier ladder of domestic motorsport championships that Caterham operates. More than 75% of Academy racers choose to stay within the Caterham racing 'family', progressing to race their Sevens in following seasons as part of Caterham's Roadsport Championship.

Trending News
  • Acura NSX GT3s Complete First International Endurance Event
  • Toyota Claims Formula Drift Manufacturer Title, Three Race Victories
  • Mecum Auctions Announces 2018 Auction Schedule
  • A Decade After DARPA: Argo AI's View On The State Of The Art In Self-Driving Cars
  • Paul Holton Wins Title In Audi RS 3 LMS

    Simon Lambert, Chief Motorsport and Technical Officer for Caterham and, himself a graduate of the Academy, said: 'It may be 22 years old, but the Academy's DNA of taking racing enthusiasts and making their motorsport aspirations a reality remains the same.

    'We're incredibly proud to be able to offer our drivers the chance to live the dream and become fully-fledged, bona fide racing drivers. It's fitting that, as the venerable Seven turns 60 years old, it is also celebrating another important anniversary in its natural environment – on the race track.'

    The Academy season comprises two sprint events, followed by five full circuit races in a calendar that includes a special Caterham Festival event at Donington Park (July 8/9) which will underpin the 60th anniversary celebrations.

    For more information, please visit or call 01293 312300 for more information.

  • posted on

    Recent News
    Caterham Sales Soar Again In 2017

    Caterham has surpassed last years record-breaking sales achievement. The news comes as Caterham today (October 16) celebrates the 60th anniversary of the very first Seven being unveiled at the......

    Ashley Sutton Crowned BTCC Champion

    Adrian Flux Subaru Racings Ashley Sutton has won the 2017 Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship after a dramatic day of racing at Brands Hatch. Colin Turkingtons sensational race two win......

    The McLaren 570S GT4 Continues Stellar Debut Full Season With Fourth Championship Title

    Adding to the list of race wins and podiums already secured in the first year racing with customer teams around the world, the McLaren 570S GT4 has now achieved multiple championship success over the......

    Alex Lynn Steps Up To Full-Time Formula E Race Seat With DS Virgin Racing Joining Sam Bird For An All-British Line-Up

    British racer Alex Lynn has been signed on a multi-year deal alongside Sam Bird to contest the forthcoming fourth Formula E season for DS Racing, marking the series first ever all-British......

    Jaguar Land Rover Classic Works Opens In Uk'S Original Motor City

    Jaguar Land Rover Classic Works is an all-new, facility in the British Midlands dedicated to offering a range of products and services designed to fuel the passion of owners and enthusiasts for classic......

    Gordon Shedden Leads The Pack Into Croft

    The 2017 Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship reaches its halfway point next weekend (1011 June) as the series pilgrimage around the best of the UKs motor racing venues reaches North Yorkshires......

    'Old School' Croft Circuit Next Stop For Renault UK Clio Cup Title Race

    There is now just over a week to go before the Renault UK Clio Cup joins the star-studded British Touring Car Championship once more for its latest rounds of 2017 at the popular Croft Circuit in North......

    British Sporting Icon Sir Chris Hoy To Compete In Caterham Race Series

    Six-time Olympic gold medallist Sir Chris Hoy has confirmed the next step on his motorsport journey after announcing he will compete in six races in the new Caterham Seven 310R Championship this summer. Sir......

    2016 Caterham Seven Sprint
    2016 Caterham Seven Sprint  2016 Caterham Seven Sprint  2016 Caterham Seven Sprint  2016 Caterham Seven Sprint  2016 Caterham Seven Sprint  
    2016 Jaguar I-TYPE 1
    2016 Jaguar I-TYPE 1  2016 Jaguar I-TYPE 1  
    2010 Chevron GR8
    2010 Chevron GR8  2010 Chevron GR8  2010 Chevron GR8  2010 Chevron GR8  2010 Chevron GR8  
    2010 Lotus Evora Cup
    2010 Lotus Evora Cup  2010 Lotus Evora Cup  2010 Lotus Evora Cup  2010 Lotus Evora Cup  2010 Lotus Evora Cup  
    2008 Jetstream SC250
    2008 Jetstream SC250  2008 Jetstream SC250  2008 Jetstream SC250  2008 Jetstream SC250  2008 Jetstream SC250  
    2005 Renault Megane Trophy
    2005 Renault Megane Trophy  2005 Renault Megane Trophy  
    2004 Porsche 911 GT3
    2004 Porsche 911 GT3  2004 Porsche 911 GT3  2004 Porsche 911 GT3  2004 Porsche 911 GT3  2004 Porsche 911 GT3  
    1992 Ascari FG-T
    1992 Ascari FG-T  1992 Ascari FG-T  1992 Ascari FG-T  1992 Ascari FG-T  
    1976 BRM P207
    1976 BRM P207  1976 BRM P207  1976 BRM P207  1976 BRM P207  1976 BRM P207  
    1958 Cooper T-43
    1958 Cooper T-43  1958 Cooper T-43  1958 Cooper T-43  

    Vehicle information, history, and
    specifications from concept to production.

    Follow ConceptCarz on Facebook  Follow ConceptCarz on Twitter RSS News Feed
    © 1998-2017 Reproduction or reuse prohibited without written consent.