2000 McLaren MP4-15 news, pictures, specifications, and information
McLaren raced the MP4/15 during the 2000 season. It was powered by a Mercedes-Benz FO110J V10 engine that was mounted at a 72-degree angle and matted to a McLaren seven-speed longitudinal semi-automatic gearbox. The chassis was constructed from a carbon-fibre monocoque and the design was by Adrian Newey. Newey has worked in both Formula One and Indycar as a race engineer, designer, technical directory, and aerodynamicist. He is considered one of the best talents in his field. His designs have won nearly 80 Grand Prix Victories. At the close of the 2001 season, Newey left McLaren and in 2005 was working for Red Bull Racing.

The car was driven by Mika Häkkinen and David Coulthard and made its racing debut at the Australian Grand Prix in 2000. It competed in 17 races and won seven times. The MP4/15 were extremely fast and scored 11 'fastest laps', but at the close of the season they were in Second Place both in the Constructors Championship and the Drivers Championship. Schumacher and the F1-2000 proved to best the faster opponent.

By Daniel Vaughan | Feb 2007
Recent Vehicle Additions

2018 Ford Mustang GT Convertible

2017 Alfa Romeo 4C

1993 Mercedes-Benz 300 Series

2017 Vanda Electrics Dendrobium Concept

2017 MINI John Cooper Works Countryman

2017 Vauxhall Crossland X
Ticket prices for IGNITION, Scotland's unique Festival of Motoring, have been revealed and will offer a wide range of opportunities to suit every pocket when sales start later this month. Single tickets start at just £28 (in advance) for day entry to the festival, which will take over Glasgow's Scottish Exhibition and Conference Centre on 5-7 August, while a family day ticket for two adults and up to three children costs just £65. Gather together a few like-minded friends and things beco...[Read more...]
Daniel Juncadella is Stars & Cars Champion of 2015
 First time ever at Stars & Cars: Daniel Juncadella wins debut competition at the Mercedes-Benz Arena Stuttgart in run-off against Pascal Wehrlein •35,612 fans hail Mercedes-Benz motorsport champions of 2015 in the Mercedes-Benz Arena Stuttgart •For more information about the event, visit www.mercedes.me/starsandcars •Daniel Juncadella: „I'm absolutely delighted. Stars & Cars was a super event – there were so many fans here tonight. Simply incredible.' Stuttgart: A perfect way to ro...[Read more...]
MONACO – What can you say about the Monaco Grand Prix that hasn't already been said a thousand times: jewel in the crown, F1's glamour capital, a legendary circuit that sorts the men from the boys. The thing is, while the clichés get trotted out more regularly than an F1 driver interview features the words 'for sure,' they've only become clichés because they're true. Monaco is a sparkling jewel of a race. The yachts, rock legends and film stars do give it an über-glamorous luster, and it is ...[Read more...]
1997 European Grand Prix: A Page from a Father's Book
Twenty-two laps from the end of the European Grand Prix and everything was held in the balance. Then, suddenly, Jacques Villeneuve would draw from a page of his father's book and would help to produce a truly memorable moment in Formula One's history. The 1997 Formula One season was to be Jacques Villeneuve's opportunity to finally add the family name to the annals of Formula One champions. Jacques had come to Formula One and Williams in 1996. He would join another son of a Formula One drive...[Read more...]
2000 German Grand Prix: Barrichello Assumes Command
When it was all said and done the 2000 German Grand Prix would go down as one of the strangest races in Formula One history. But, in the end, all would be lost in the exuberant celebrations and tears of one of the most-deserving drivers in the paddock. Hoisted onto the shoulders of his defeated peers, Ruben Barrichello had finally assumed command. Heading into the German Grand Prix, Barrichello had been struggling to equal the results of his teammate, Michael Schumacher. Already a double Worl...[Read more...]

2000 Formula One Season
Scuderia Ferrari MarlboroFerrariF1-2000 Brazil Rubens Gonçalves 'Rubinho' Barrichello
Germany Michael Schumacher 
West McLaren MercedesMcLaren
United Kingdom David Marshall Coulthard
Finland Mika Pauli Hakkinen 
BMW WilliamsF1 TeamWilliams
United Kingdom Jenson Alexander Lyons Button
Germany Ralf Schumacher 
Lucky Strike British American Racing HondaBAR
Canada Jacques Villeneuve
Brazil Ricardo Luiz Zonta 
Mild Seven Benetton PlaylifeBenetton
Italy Giancarlo Fisichella
Austria Alexander Wurz 
Benson and Hedges JordanJordan Germany Heinz-Harald Frentzen
Italy Jarno Trulli 
Orange ArrowsArrows
Spain Pedro Martínez de la Rosa
Netherlands Johannes Franciscus 'Jos' Verstappen 
Sauber PetronasSauber Brazil Pedro Paulo Diniz
Finland Mika Juhani Salo 
Jaguar RacingJaguar
Brazil Luciano Pucci Burti
United Kingdom John Paul 'Johnny' Herbert
United Kingdom Edmund 'Eddie' Irvine, Jr. 
11 Gauloises Prost PeugeotProst France Jean Alesi
Germany Nick Lars Heidfeld 
10 Fondmetal MinardiMinardi Spain Marc Gené
Argentina Gastón Hugo Mazzacane 

2000 Season Review
RaceCircuitDateWinning DriverConstructor
 Australian Grand Prix  Albert ParkMar 2000  Michael SchumacherFerrari 
 Brazilian Grand Prix  Autódromo José Carlos Pace, InterlagosMar 2000  Michael SchumacherFerrari 
 San Marino Grand Prix  Autodromo Enzo e Dino FerrariApr 2000  Michael SchumacherFerrari 
 British Grand Prix  SilverstoneApr 2000  Michael SchumacherMcLaren 
 Spanish Grand Prix  Circuit de CatalunyaMay 2000  David Marshall CoulthardMcLaren 
 European Grand Prix  NürburgringMay 2000  Michael SchumacherFerrari 
 Monaco Grand Prix  MonacoJun 2000  David Marshall CoulthardMcLaren 
 Canadian Grand Prix  Circuit Gilles VilleneuveJun 2000  Michael SchumacherFerrari 
 French Grand Prix French Grand Prix Circuit de Nevers Magny-CoursJul 2000  David Marshall CoulthardMcLaren 
 Austrian Grand Prix  OsterreichringJul 2000  Mika Pauli HakkinenMcLaren 
 German Grand Prix German Grand Prix HockenheimringJul 2000  Rubens Gonçalves 'Rubinho' BarrichelloFerrari 
 Hungarian Grand Prix  HungaroringAug 2000  Mika Pauli HakkinenMcLaren 
 Belgian Grand Prix  Spa-FrancorchampsAug 2000  Mika Pauli HakkinenMcLaren 
 Italian Grand Prix Italian Grand Prix MonzaSep 2000  Michael SchumacherFerrari 
 United States Grand Prix  IndianapolisSep 2000  Michael SchumacherFerrari 
 Japanese Grand Prix  SuzukaOct 2000  Michael SchumacherFerrari 
 Malaysian Grand Prix  SepangOct 2000  Michael SchumacherFerrari 

Formula One World Drivers' Champions
1950 G. Farina
1951 J. Fangio
1952 A. Ascari
1953 A. Ascari
1954 J. Fangio
1955 J. Fangio
1956 J. Fangio
1957 J. Fangio
1958 M. Hawthorn
1959 S. Brabham
1960 S. Brabham
1961 P. Hill, Jr
1962 N. Hill
1963 J. Clark, Jr.
1964 J. Surtees
1965 J. Clark, Jr.
1966 S. Brabham
1967 D. Hulme
1968 N. Hill
1969 S. Stewart
1970 K. Rindt
1971 S. Stewart
1972 E. Fittipaldi
1973 S. Stewart
1974 E. Fittipaldi
1975 A. Lauda
1976 J. Hunt
1977 A. Lauda
1978 M. Andretti
1979 J. Scheckter
1980 A. Jones
1981 N. Piquet
1982 K. Rosberg
1983 N. Piquet
1984 A. Lauda
1985 A. Prost
1986 A. Prost
1987 N. Piquet
1988 A. Senna
1989 A. Prost
1990 A. Senna
1991 A. Senna
1992 N. Mansell
1993 A. Prost
1994 M. Schumacher
1995 M. Schumacher
1996 D. Hill
1997 J. Villeneuve
1998 M. Hakkinen
1999 M. Hakkinen
2000 M. Schumacher
2001 M. Schumacher
2002 M. Schumacher
2003 M. Schumacher
2004 M. Schumacher
2005 F. Alonso
2006 F. Alonso
2007 K. Raikkonen
2008 L. Hamilton
2009 J. Button
2010 S. Vettel
2011 S. Vettel
2012 S. Vettel
2013 S. Vettel
2014 L. Hamilton
2015 L. Hamilton


© 1998-2017. All rights reserved. The material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.