Concept Carz Home
 ManufacturersArrow PictureMeskowskiArrow Picture1962 Meskowski Sprint Car 

1962 Meskowski Sprint Car news, pictures, specifications, and information

Don Urgo, a young sprint car driver, was employed at Eddie Kuzma's race car shop in Gardena, CA in 1961. Armed with a new sprint car design, he struck a bargain with Kuzma, gaining the use of the shop after hours to build a new car, along with materials and parts from Kuzma's shop stock. This agreement worked well and the car quickly neared completion, however, business slowed and Urgo was without a job. Unable to pay for the parts and materials, the incomplete car defaulted to Kuzma. Passing by the shop in 1962, Wally Meskowski noticed the car and purchased it on the spot. Halibrand engineering provided the parts required to make the car a rolling chassis and upon completion, a host of well-known drivers got behind the wheel. During the 1963 season, A.J. Foyt won the USAC season opener at Reading, PA, and took the checkered flag two weeks later at Langhorne, PA. Bobby Marshman won the 15-mile race at Terre Haute, IN. In 1964, with sponsorship from Wynn's, Roger McCluskey flipped the car at Reading. Repairs were made and the car secured two more victories for the season. In 1965, Johnny Rutherford joined Meskowski, winning six races and taking the 1965 USAC Sprint Car Championship.

The car then passed through several owners who raced the car until it was disassembled and discarded alongside a grain elevator in Cummings, ND. In the late 1980s, the car was purchased by Denny Wagner who researched the history and restored it to its 1965 glory with remarkable attention to detail. This car was on display in 1995 when Johnny Rutherford was inducted into the Sprint Car Hall of Fame.
 ◾New Honda twin-turbo V6 engine debuts ◾Andretti Autosport returns to Honda power ◾Lineup includes eight race winners, 2012 champion Ryan Hunter-Reay 03/24/2014 - TORRANCE, Calif. -- Seven teams and a dozen full-time entries will lead the Honda effort in the 2014 Verizon IndyCar Series, which opens Sunday with the Firestone Grand Prix of St. Petersburg. The manufacturer and its Honda Performance Development racing arm are seeking their seventh competitive manufacturers' championsh...[Read more...]
 HILLIARD, Ohio (Nov. 7, 2013) - Thirty-seven race-car drivers and motorsports professionals have been voted into the Road Racing Drivers Club in 2013. The group includes 13 Regular Members from the open-wheel and sports-car racing ranks, 20 Associate Members and four Honorary Members. The current roster of RRDC members now numbers 440. Voting was held among all current RRDC members. 'This year's crop of new Regular Members truly represents the spirit of the RRDC, as each driver has de...[Read more...]
Charlotte, N.C. – October 14, 2013— Only weeks after revealing plans to auction the 1977 McLaren M26 that James Hunt drove to his final F1 victory, RK Motors Collector Car Auctions (RKMCCA) today announced that four additional iconic racing machines will cross the block during its auction at the Charlotte Convention Center, October 31 to November 3. Furthering the auction's historic motorsports theme, RKMCCA will offer bidders an opportunity to own: Mario Andretti's 1974 Viceroy Gurn...[Read more...]
Limited-Edition Ford Racing History Artwork Unveiled at SEMA; Limited-Edition Print Sales to Benefit JDRF
•Special limited-edition Ford Racing history artwork is unveiled at the annual SEMA show as part of the Ford press conference •Famed automotive artist Sam Bass created the artwork at the request of Edsel B. Ford II, with proceeds from sales of limited-edition autographed prints benefiting JDRF •Drivers and Ford race vehicles featured on the special artwork include Henry Ford (Sweepstakes), Trevor Bayne (No. 21 Fusion), Dan Gurney/A.J. Foyt (Ford Mark IV), Bob Glidden (NHRA Thunderbird), Jack...[Read more...]
45Th Anniversary Of 'All-American' Victory At 1967 Le Mans
Forty-five years ago this past week, American racing history was made, and thus far has neve rbeen matched again. With the 24 Hours of Le Mans this weekend, Racing in America reflects on the 45th anniversary of the Ford Mark IV claiming the second of four consecutive victories for Ford Motor Company cars at LeMans, arguably the greatest American racing victory on foreign soil. That day in 1967, the stunning red Mark IV, now in the procession of Henry Ford Museum as part of its Racing in ...[Read more...]

View more Sprint Car vehicles

Collectible: A Gathering of the Exceptional and Captivating
Meskowski: 1961-1970
Similar Automakers
Other models by Meskowski

© 1998-2014. All rights reserved. The material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.