Skip to main content

1986 Fabcar GTP-L news, pictures, specifications, and information
The 'Fabulous Fabcar' was constructed in Atlanta, Georgia, by master car builder, Dave Kylm. Fabcar Engineering has built numerous racing cars for Porsche and has won races with all of them. This Fabcar Porsche Camel Lights car was endorsed by the late Al Holbert, then Director of Porsche Motorsports, North America.

Often referred to as the 'Baby 962', it won in its maiden outing in 1986, at Road Atlanta, being driven by Elliot Forbes-Robinson. It was EFR's only race in the car, and it faltered in other races that year. Purchased by veteran Porsche racer, Daytonian John Higgins, the car was entered as the Porsche Factory Endorsed entry in the IMSA GTP series in 1987. Driven by the late Chip Mead, John Higgins, and Howard Cherry, the car's early success led to the construction of a second team car. Joining the team were Tim McAdam and Canadian Dr. Charlie Monk.

In the first four races of 1987, the Fabcar Team finished second in the 24 Hours of Daytona, won the 12 Hours of Sebring, won the Miami Grand Prix, and finished second in the West Palm Beach GP. Pitted against factory teams from Ferrari, Buick, Pontiac and Mazda, the Daytona-based team went on to run up front for the rest of the season, adding the California 500 at Sears Point to their record. Lead driver Chip Mead was awarded the Porsche Cup for their accomplishments. This Chassis 001 set an all-time IMSA record with over 5200 racing miles in one year, without one single mechanical failure. The car continued to offer podium finishes for the team until its retirement in 1989. Among notable drivers who co-drove this car were 1996 Indy 500 Champion Buddy Lazier, actors Lorenzo Lamas and Perry King, plus ZZ Top drummer Frank Beard.

The car is now campaigned in Vintage Rolex Cup endurance races with two of its original drivers, Howard Cherry and John Higgins, still winning with the car. The car is campaigned out of the Grant Motorsports stable.
- Mazda racer Marine Staff Sgt. Liam Dwyer to attend on anniversary of 'Alive Day' – IRVINE, Calif. (May 19, 2015) – Mazda has been in business since 1920, while the Indianapolis Motor Speedway began hosting events in 1909, and this week features a series of firsts for the venerable auto maker at the world-famous track. The Freedom 100 for the Indy Lights Presented by Cooper Tire will take the green flag Friday afternoon, May 22, marking the first time Mazda engines have compete...[Read more...]
DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. (Jan. 25, 2014) - Lawrence Loshak, who was named the 43rd recipient of the RRDC Mark Donohue Award at the SCCA National Championship Runoffs last September, was presented the unique trophy at the annual Road Racing Drivers Club dinner in Daytona Beach. A record number of RRDC members and their guests attended the dinner, held prior to the Rolex 24 At Daytona, the season opener for the 2014 TUDOR United SportsCar Championship. RRDC president Bobby Rahal and RRDC memb...[Read more...]
More Than 500 Historic Race Cars Accepted for Rolex Monterey Motorsports Reunion
Largest Field of Corvettes Ever Entered The field for this year's Rolex Monterey Motorsports Reunion is taking shape as 533 historic race cars have been initially accepted for the August 16-18 event. The Governing Committee has the option of accepting an additional 17 cars to complete the grid for the annual race at Mazda Raceway Laquna Seca. 'What a joyous moment it is to get the notification that my car and I have been accepted to the event,' said Pen Pendelton of Los Angeles, C...[Read more...]
Firestone Returns As Presenting Sponsor of RRDC Evening With Brian Redman in Long Beach
The Firestone brand will return as presenting sponsor of the Road Racing Drivers Club's fifth annual West Coast banquet honoring auto racing's most influential leaders. This year, on Thursday, April 18, prior to the running of the Toyota Grand Prix of Long Beach, the 'RRDC Evening with Brian Redman presented by Firestone' will highlight the career of one of the sport's most popular, talented and successful race-car drivers. This is the Firestone brand's fourth straight year as a supporter of the...[Read more...]
Rolex Monterey Motorsports Reunion : A Brilliant Finish
There are times to spectate and there are times to roll up one's sleeves and participate. At the Rolex Monterey Motorsports Reunion this year, both options brought abundant joy, as more than 550 authentic and historic race cars from nearly every decade of motorsports history popped their clutches and shifted gears on the esteemed road course of Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca. Over August 16-19, the cars--split into 17 groups according to age and engine size and chosen for their period-correct presen...[Read more...]

550/718 Sports Racing Cars
918 Spyder
956 and 962
Beutler 356B
Carrera GT
Type 959

© 1998-2016. All rights reserved. The material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.