1970 Webster 5000 news, pictures, specifications, and information
Chassis Num: 1
In the mid-1960s, SCCA began introduced new single seater formulas in an attempt to bring the Grand Prix FIA Formula 1, 2, and 3 cars to North America (Formula A, B, and C respectively). Unfortunately, none of these were very successful. What was successful was the new Can-AM Cup series introduced in 1966. This was basically an open series with few restrictions. Rules stated two-seat bodywork but this wasn't always enforced. Prizes were lucrative and attracted several Formula One constructors who could make more in a few Can-Am races than in a full season on the GP circuit.

In 1968, SCCA attempted to bring the Can-Am concept to single seaters, by adding 5-liter stock block engines to the single seater regulations. Formula A was opened to small blocks from Ford, Dodge, Plymouth and Chevrolet that competed in TransAm series. These powerplants were relatively inexpensive, easily serviced and tunable. Formula A soon became F5000. Marques such as AAR Eagle, Lola, McLaren, Surtees, Shadow and Chevron built F5000 race cars. Drivers included Denny Hulme, Bruce McLaren, Jim Hall, Mark Donohue, Peter Revson, Dan Gurney, Lothar Motschenbacher, Sam Posey, Jerry Titus, Chuck Parsons, Skip Scott, Ronnie Bucknum, and John Surtees.

The money was good, the competition was stiff, and the cars were fast.

Jerry Eisert was a Champ Car constructor and an independent mechanic. He worked with J. Frank Harrison to field Chevrolet-powered mid-engined cars during the late 1960s. In 1965 he built the Harrison Special with a monocoque tube and was the first car at Indy to try a wing to increase aerodynamic downforce. The car was awarded that year with the Mechanical Achievement Award for imagination and skill in design.

The Eisert/Harrison partnership would continue through 1967. At the time, SCCA Formula 5000 was in its infancy but was showing much potential for the talented Eisert. He turned his attention to this class of racing, designing a low, nearly wedge-shaped car. One of the cars he built went to Marvin Webster. It was prepared to race the Indianapolis 500 but it didn't attempt to qualify in 1972 or 1973.

After Indianapolis, the car was returned to its F5000 configuration and raced sparingly. After its racing career came to an end, it was stored at Webster's gear company in Mill Valley, California. The current owner acquired the car in 1987. It was then treated to a re-commissioning with special attention to retaining its originality. The current engine is a Gurney-Weslake V8 with four-Weber carburetors and Webster's preferred eight upswept exhaust pipes.

The car has been vintage raced on a few occasions from 1988 through 2003.

In 2012, the car was offered for sale at the Quail Lodge Sale presented by Bonhams auction. The car was estimated to sell for $100,000 - $150,000. Unfortunately, a buyer willing to satisfy its reserve was not found. it would leave the auction unsold.

By Daniel Vaughan | Oct 2012
Recent Vehicle Additions

1990 Toyota Pickup

1979 Toyota HJ45 Land Cruiser

1959 Berkeley SE492 Sports

2017 Fiat 500 Mirror

2017 Lotus Exige Cup 380

1981 Morgan Plus 4
Can-Am History Roars Back to Life at Spring Classic May 19-21
The Can-Am Series made its last appearance at Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca at the 1973 Monterey Grand Prix. Vic Elford (10) in the UOP Shadow was chased through the Corkscrew by winner Mark Donohue (6) in the dominant Sunoco Porsche 917/30. MONTEREY, Calif., March 17, 2017 — Sports car racing's booming popularity following WWII resulted in the Sports Car Club of America (SCCA) and the CASC (Canadian Automobile Sports Club) founding the Can-Am Series for Group 7 type sports racers i...[Read more...]
American Honda Supports RRDC Evening with George Follmer in Long Beach
 HILLIARD, Ohio (March 29, 2016) - American Honda Motor Co., Inc., will support the RRDC Evening with George Follmer presented by Firestone by hosting the cocktail reception on April 14 for the seventh consecutive year at the Road Racing Drivers Club's eighth annual West Coast banquet, held prior to the 42nd Toyota Grand Prix of Long Beach (Calif.). 'American Honda is profoundly pleased to support the Road Racing Drivers Club in its salute to George Follmer,' said John Mendel, Executive...[Read more...]
George Follmer to be honored by RRDC in Long Beach
 HILLIARD, Ohio (March 2, 2016) - George Follmer, the only driver to have won both the Trans-Am and Can-Am championships in one year (1972), will be honored by the Road Racing Drivers Club at the 'RRDC Evening with George Follmer presented by Firestone' in Long Beach, Calif., on Thursday, April 14, prior to the running of the Toyota Grand Prix of Long Beach. This is the RRDC's eighth consecutive annual banquet honoring auto racing's most influential leaders and icons. Previous honorees ...[Read more...]
• Firestone returns as presenting sponsor
HILLIARD, Ohio (March 7, 2014) - Mario Andretti, the world's most recognized race-car driver, will be honored by the Road Racing Drivers Club at the 'RRDC Evening with Mario Andretti presented by Firestone' in Long Beach, Calif., on Thursday, April 10, prior to the running of the Toyota Grand Prix of Long Beach. This is the RRDC's sixth consecutive annual banquet honoring auto racing's most influential leaders. Previous honorees were ...[Read more...]
 HILLIARD, Ohio (Nov. 7, 2013) - Thirty-seven race-car drivers and motorsports professionals have been voted into the Road Racing Drivers Club in 2013. The group includes 13 Regular Members from the open-wheel and sports-car racing ranks, 20 Associate Members and four Honorary Members. The current roster of RRDC members now numbers 440. Voting was held among all current RRDC members. 'This year's crop of new Regular Members truly represents the spirit of the RRDC, as each driver has de...[Read more...]

© 1998-2017. All rights reserved. The material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.