1997 McLaren MP4/12 news, pictures, specifications, and information
In 1997, at the opening race of the Formula 1 season, David Coulthard produced a victory for McLaren-Mercedes. For the first time since 1955, the McLaren-Mercedes MP4-12 marked the return of a Silver Arrow in the form of a Mercedes-Benz powered Grand Prix racer. With exclusive use of the Mercedes F0110 V-10 engine, McLaren led Grand Prix racing with Daimler-Benz owning a majority stake in the McLaren International Company during the 1990s.

For the 1997 Formula One season, the drivers for McLaren were Mika Hakkinen and David Coulthard. The car they drove was the McLaren MP4/12 which wore a design by Neil Oatley. It was a completely new machine with engine supplied by Mercedes-Benz. During testing, the cars wore the tradition paint color scheme of McLaren orange, before they were given a new silver livery to celebrate the team's new sponsorship deal with West, ending the team's 23-year association with Marlboro.

The car was fast but it suffered from reliability issues, in particular that of the engine. The FO110E engine was replaced with the FO110F engine from the French Grand Prix, but engine problems persisted. Hakkinen alone was forced to retire from three races whilst in the lead - all were due to engine failures.

Of the 17 races, the car finished first on three occasions, with 1 pole position.
Recent Vehicle Additions

Sportiness In The Brand DNA: Game-Changer With Mercedes-Benz At Goodwood Festival Of Speed 2017

With a dozen racing cars and sporty vehicles from over 100 years, Mercedes-Benz Classic sums up the motto of this years Goodwood Festival of Speed: Peaks of Performance – Motorsports Game-Changers...

1999 French Grand Prix: Frentzen and Jordan Keep Their Heads to Win

The 1999 French Grand Prix would seemingly be a race in which every driver and spectator would have liked to miss. However, had that been the case, Formula One would have lost one of its most memorable...

120 years of motor sport at Mercedes-Benz take centre stage at the Goodwood Festival of Speed 2014

Addicted to Winning: at this years Goodwood Festival of Speed, Mercedes-Benz looks back on some fascinating racing victories of the last 120 years The unique motor sport heritage of the Mercedes-...

Lewis Hamilton'S Flying Lap With The Raf Red Arrows Before Silverstone

MERCEDES AMG PETRONAS driver Lewis Hamilton swapped his Formula One car for an even faster form of transport as he flew with the RAF Red Arrows on Friday 21 June as part of the teams build up to the...

Mercedes-Benz Classic: Topics for 2013

The main topics: The tradition of the Mercedes-Benz S-Class Mercedes-Benz Silver Arrows in the 1930s Originals – authentic vehicles tell authentic stories Classic vehicles kept in perfect...

1997 Formula One Season
Rothmans Williams RenaultWilliamsFW19 Germany Heinz-Harald Frentzen
Canada Jacques Villeneuve 
Scuderia Ferrari MarlboroFerrari
310B F1 
United Kingdom Edmund 'Eddie' Irvine, Jr.
Germany Michael Schumacher 
Mild Seven Renault F1 TeamBenetton France Jean Alesi
Austria Gerhard Berger
Austria Alexander Wurz 
West McLaren MercedesMcLaren
United Kingdom David Marshall Coulthard
Finland Mika Pauli Hakkinen 
B&H Total Jordan PeugeotJordan Italy Giancarlo Fisichella
Germany Ralf Schumacher 
Prost Gauloises BlondesProst Japan Shinji Nakano
France Olivier Panis
Italy Jarno Trulli 
Red Bull Sauber PetronasSauber Argentina Norberto Edgardo Fontana
United Kingdom John Paul 'Johnny' Herbert
Italy Nicola Larini
Italy Gianni Morbidelli 
Danka Arrows YamahaArrows
Brazil Pedro Paulo Diniz
United Kingdom Damon Graham Devereux Hill 
HSBC Malaysia Stewart FordStewart Brazil Rubens Gonçalves 'Rubinho' Barrichello
Denmark Jan Magnussen 
10 PIAA TyrrellTyrrell Finland Mika Juhani Salo
Netherlands Johannes Franciscus 'Jos' Verstappen 
11 Minardi TeamMinardi Japan Ukyo Katayama
Brazil Tarso Anibal Santanna Marques
Italy Jarno Trulli 
 MasterCard Lola F1 TeamLola Brazil Ricardo Rosset
Italy Vincenzo Sospiri 

1997 Season Review
RaceCircuitDateWinning DriverConstructor
 Australian Grand Prix  Melbourne Grand Prix CircuitMar 1997  David Marshall CoulthardMcLaren 
 Brazilian Grand Prix  Autódromo José Carlos Pace, InterlagosMar 1997  Jacques VilleneuveWilliams 
 Argentine Grand Prix  Autodromo Oscar Alfredo GalvezApr 1997  Jacques VilleneuveWilliams 
 San Marino Grand Prix San Marino Grand Prix Autodromo Enzo e Dino FerrariApr 1997  Heinz-Harald FrentzenWilliams 
 Monaco Grand Prix Monaco Grand Prix MonacoMay 1997  Michael SchumacherFerrari 
 Spanish Grand Prix  Circuit de CatalunyaMay 1997  Jacques VilleneuveWilliams 
 Canadian Grand Prix  Circuit Gilles VilleneuveJun 1997  Michael SchumacherFerrari 
 French Grand Prix  Circuit de Nevers Magny-CoursJun 1997  Michael SchumacherFerrari 
 British Grand Prix  SilverstoneJul 1997  Jacques VilleneuveWilliams 
 German Grand Prix  HockenheimringJul 1997  Gerhard BergerBenetton 
 Hungarian Grand Prix Hungarian Grand Prix HungaroringAug 1997  Jacques VilleneuveWilliams 
 Belgian Grand Prix  Circuit de Spa-Francorchamps,Spa,BelgiumAug 1997  Michael SchumacherFerrari 
 Italian Grand Prix  MonzaSep 1997  David Marshall CoulthardMcLaren 
 Austrian Grand Prix  SpielbergSep 1997  Jacques VilleneuveWilliams 
 Luxembourg Grand Prix  NürburgringSep 1997  Jacques VilleneuveWilliams 
 Japanese Grand Prix  SuzukaOct 1997  Michael SchumacherFerrari 
 European Grand Prix European Grand Prix Circuito Permanente de JerezOct 1997  Mika Pauli HakkinenMcLaren 

Formula One World Drivers' Champions
1950 G. Farina
1951 J. Fangio
1952 A. Ascari
1953 A. Ascari
1954 J. Fangio
1955 J. Fangio
1956 J. Fangio
1957 J. Fangio
1958 M. Hawthorn
1959 S. Brabham
1960 S. Brabham
1961 P. Hill, Jr
1962 N. Hill
1963 J. Clark, Jr.
1964 J. Surtees
1965 J. Clark, Jr.
1966 S. Brabham
1967 D. Hulme
1968 N. Hill
1969 S. Stewart
1970 K. Rindt
1971 S. Stewart
1972 E. Fittipaldi
1973 S. Stewart
1974 E. Fittipaldi
1975 A. Lauda
1976 J. Hunt
1977 A. Lauda
1978 M. Andretti
1979 J. Scheckter
1980 A. Jones
1981 N. Piquet
1982 K. Rosberg
1983 N. Piquet
1984 A. Lauda
1985 A. Prost
1986 A. Prost
1987 N. Piquet
1988 A. Senna
1989 A. Prost
1990 A. Senna
1991 A. Senna
1992 N. Mansell
1993 A. Prost
1994 M. Schumacher
1995 M. Schumacher
1996 D. Hill
1997 J. Villeneuve
1998 M. Hakkinen
1999 M. Hakkinen
2000 M. Schumacher
2001 M. Schumacher
2002 M. Schumacher
2003 M. Schumacher
2004 M. Schumacher
2005 F. Alonso
2006 F. Alonso
2007 K. Raikkonen
2008 L. Hamilton
2009 J. Button
2010 S. Vettel
2011 S. Vettel
2012 S. Vettel
2013 S. Vettel
2014 L. Hamilton
2015 L. Hamilton
2016 N. Rosberg


© 1998-2017. All rights reserved. The material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Vehicle information, history, and
specifications from concept to production.

Follow ConceptCarz on Facebook  Follow ConceptCarz on Twitter RSS News Feed

© 1998-2017 Conceptcarz.com Reproduction or reuse prohibited without written consent.