Volkswagen Group Honours Its Best Suppliers

By: Volkswagen Group

•Volkswagen presents Group Award 2017 to 19 best suppliers for innovative strength and entrepreneurial reliability

•Group CEO Müller: 'We must make further progress together. If we are willing to change we can successfully master the transformation in our industry'

•Board Member for Procurement, Garcia Sanz: 'We need a partnership network based on a level playing field that stands for transparency, openness and courage'

Wolfsburg – The Volkswagen Group presented the 'Volkswagen Group Award 2017' to its best suppliers yesterday at a ceremony in the 'Motorwerk Berlin'. Before an audience of some 270 guests from 25 countries, Matthias Müller, CEO of Volkswagen Aktiengesellschaft, and Dr. Francisco Javier Garcia Sanz, Group Board of Management member with responsibility for Procurement, handed over the 19 awards to this year's top Group suppliers.

Group CEO Matthias Müller talked about partnership and the transformation of the automotive industry in his speech: 'We must make further progress together and become better and better. Never before have not only the pressure, but also the opportunities been as great as they are today. If we are willing to change, we can successfully master the transformation in our industry.' Müller underlined that e-mobility and battery technology, autonomous driving, digitalization throughout the value chain, and new mobility services are not passing trends: 'That is the future of our industry – our common future. Thank you for your willingness to explore new pathways with us.'

Garcia Sanz said: 'A strong and uncomplicated partnership network based on a level playing field where information is exchanged almost in real time is essential to our success. And this must above all be a network that stands for transparency, openness and courage.'

This is the 15th time that the Volkswagen Group has honoured its best suppliers of the previous year for their innovative strength, product quality, development competence, sustainability, and professional project management. This year, the Volkswagen Group also recognized achievements in the new mobility solutions category for the first time. The Group's 'TOGETHER – Strategy 2025' program for the future lays the foundation for sustainable success in the mobility world of tomorrow and for becoming a globally leading provider of sustainable mobility. Collaboration with competent and innovative partners is one of the key factors for success.

'On behalf of the Volkswagen Group, I would like to thank you and especially your employees for your commitment and performance last year', Garcia said, expressing his appreciation to the guests during the award winning ceremony.

The 19 winners of the Volkswagen Group Award 2017 are:

Trending News
  • Donington Historic Festival To Celebrate 1993 European Gp
  • Rebirth Of A London Landmark: Jack Barclay Bentley Re-Opens With Contemporary New Design
  • Steel Cutting: Construction Of LNG Ships For Volkswagen Group Logistics Started
  • Advanced Technology Propels New Mercedes-Benz Sprinter To A Winning Start
  • Seat To Launch One New Car Every Six Months Until 2020 And Kicks Off Its Electric Offensive

    Award winner; Country; Category:

    •AISIN AW CO., Ltd.; Japan; Innovation & Technology

    •Aleris Switzerland GmbH; Switzerland; Sustainability

    •ALLGAIER Automotive GmbH; Germany; Capacity

    •Behr-Hella Thermocontrol GmbH; Germany; Innovation & Technology

    •Bridgestone Corporation; Japan; Innovation & Technology

    •Bürener Maschinenfabrik GmbH; Germany; Capacity

    •Dr. Schneider Holding GmbH; Germany; Innovation & Technology

    •Dürr Aktiengesellschaft; Germany; Global Champion

    •Fritz Draxlmaier GmbH & Co.; Germany; New Mobility Solutions

    •Hamburg Südamerikanische Dampfschifffahrts-Gesellschaft KG; Germany; Global Champion

    •LG Electronics Inc.; South Korea; Innovation & Technology

    •Leopold Kostal GmbH & Co. KG; Germany; New Mobility Solutions

    •Muelles y Ballestas Hispano-Alemanas S.A.; Spain; Local Champion

    •Nucor Corporation; USA; Local Champion

    •Pino Components SL; Spain; Global Champion

    •Motherson Sumi Systems Ltd.; India; Innovation & Technology

    •thyssenkrupp AG; Germany; Global Champion

    •Visteon Corporation; USA; Innovation & Technology

    •Witzenmann GmbH; Germany; Capacity

    Further information is also available on our Group website at

    Here you can watch the film about the award ceremony:

  • posted on

    Vehicle information, history, and specifications from concept to production.

    Follow ConceptCarz on Facebook Conceptcarz Google+ Follow ConceptCarz on Twitter RSS News Feed
    © 1998-2018 Reproduction or reuse prohibited without written consent.