Pebble Beach Concours d'Elegance

Pebble Beach Concours d^Elegance August 2014
PEBBLE BEACH, Calif. (August 17, 2014) -- Excited cheers echoed across the 18th fairway of Pebble Beach Golf Links Sunday when a 1954 Ferrari 375 MM Scaglietti Coupe was named Best of Show at the 64th annual Pebble Beach Concours d'Elegance. The car, owned by Jon Shirley of Medina, Washington, was the first postwar car to take the top award at the prestigious event in nearly five decades. It was also the first Ferrari to win.

'This is a road-going Ferrari, and it has had quite the famous life having been designed by Sergio Scaglietti for Roberto Rossellini,' said Chairman Sandra Button. 'Its design was also trend-setting. So it is fitting that this is our first postwar winner in many years.' The last postwar car to be named Best of Show was a 1964 Maserati Mistral Coupé, which topped contenders back in 1968.

When asked about the significance of the win by his postwar car, Shirley said, 'I just hope it means that some more will have the chance to do the same thing. There are some wonderful coachbuilt postwar cars, and I think the owners should bring them here and try for the Best. I've won Best of Show before but this was really a special thrill to do it with this car.' Shirley, the former president of Microsoft, previously won in 2008 with a 1938 Alfa Romeo 8C 2900B Touring Berlinetta.

The 2014 Pebble Beach Concours d'Elegance showcased 216 cars and motorcycles, 35 of which came from outside of the United States. It also raised $1,677,445 for charity, bringing total charitable donations from the Concours to more than $19 million over time.

The event marked the centennial of Maserati and included first-time features of Ruxtons, the first American passenger cars with front-wheel drive, and Streamlined Tatras, technological wonders built in Czechoslovakia. A jaw-dropping display of 20 Ferrari 250 Testa Rossas was placed at one end of the show field, and cars exhibiting the curvaceous coachwork of Fernandez et Darrin posed at the edge of Carmel Bay. There were also special classes for Postwar Rolls-Royce Phantoms and Eastern European Motorcycles, and a display honoring cars that participated in the 1914 French Grand Prix.

The judging process at the Pebble Beach Concours d'Elegance is two-fold: Class Judges focus primarily on originality and authenticity, while Honorary Judges direct their attention to design, styling and elegance. To be eligible to win Best of Show--the event's top award--a car must first win its class.

Shirley acquired his winning Ferrari back in 1995, and after a full restoration, he first showed the car at the Pebble Beach Concours in 1998. It won its class on that occasion, but did not go further. After being used on numerous tours and rallies, the car was recently restored once more, with a focus on originality, incorporating new research. For example, leather seats were returned to their original vinyl. The final result on Sunday was dramatically different, with the car garnering Best of Show.

'The styling is very special, but I love the engine, I love to drive the car,' said Shirley. 'It's a very powerful car. It's a racecar underneath; it's four and one-half liters. And it's a great deal of fun.'

Other nominees for Best of Show included a 1934 Hispano-Suiza J12 Fernandez et Darrin Coupé de Ville owned by Robert M and Anne Brockinton Lee of Reno, Nevada; a 1934 Packard Twelve Dietrich Convertible Victoria owned by Frank and Milli Ricciardelli of Sarasota, Florida; and a 1937 Rolls-Royce Phantom III Vanvooren Sports Cabriolet owned by Lord Bamford of Gloucestershire, England.

The 65th Pebble Beach Concours d'Elegance will take place on Sunday, August 16, 2015.

2013 Bentley Continental GT3  
2013 Mercedes-Benz AMG Vision Gran Turismo Concept  
2014 Alfa Romeo 4C  
2014 Bentley Continental GT3-R  
2014 BMW Vision Future Luxury Concept  
2014 Infiniti Q50 Eau Rouge Concept  
2014 Lamborghini Huracán LP 620-2 Super Trofeo  
2014 Maserati Alfieri Concept  
2014 McLaren P1 GTR Design Concept  
2014 Rolls-Royce Phantom Drophead Coupé Waterspeed Collection  
2014 Saleen FOURSIXTEEN  
2014 Toyota FT-1 Graphite Concept  
2015 Lincoln MKX Concept  
1957 Ferrari 250 TR  
1958 Ferrari 250 TR  
1959 Ferrari 250 TR59  
1959 Ferrari 250 TR59/60  
1961 Ferrari 250 TRI61  
1913 Peugeot 3 Litre  
1913 Peugeot L45  
1914 Mercedes-Benz 115HP  
1914 Opel Grand Prix Racer  
1928 Maserati Tipo 26B M 8C 2800 Grand Prix  
1939 Maserati 8CTF Boyle Special  
1949 Maserati 4CLT/48  
1954 Maserati A6 GCS  
1955 Maserati 250F  
1955 Maserati 300S  
1956 Maserati 150 S  
1956 Maserati 300S  
1956 Maserati 350S  
1957 Maserati 250S  
1957 Maserati 450 S  
1960 Maserati Tipo 61 Birdcage  
1962 Maserati Tipo 151  
1951 Maserati A6G 2000  
1955 Maserati A6G/54 2000  
1956 Maserati A6G-54  
1959 Maserati 5000 GT  
1932 Jordan Motor Model G  
1933 Auburn Model 12-165  
1933 Cadillac 452C V16  
1933 Chrysler CL Custom Imperial  
1933 Lincoln Model KB  
1929 Ruxton Model C  
1930 Ruxton Model C  
1931 Ruxton Model C  
1892 Philion Road Carraige  
1900 Skene Steam  
1902 Toledo Model A  
1902 White Model B  
1905 White Model E  
1907 White Model G  
1908 Stanley Steamer Model K  
1909 Stanley Steamer Model R  
1931 Delage D8  
1933 Duesenberg Model J  
1933 Packard 1006 Twelve  
1933 Rolls-Royce 20/25  
1934 Hispano Suiza J12  
1934 Hispano Suiza K6  
1938 Buick Series 80 Roadmaster  
1936 Tatra T77  
1937 Tatra T77A  
1938 Tatra T97  
1940 Tatra T87  
1947 Tatra T87  
1951 Tatra T600 Tatraplan  
1958 Tatra T-603  
1966 Tatra T-603  
1969 Tatra T-603  
1908 Daimler TC48  
1909 Pierce Arrow Model 36  
1910 American Traveler Underslung  
1910 Fiat S61 Grand Prix  
1911 Inter-State Model Forty  
1915 Pierce Arrow Model 48  
1934 LaSalle Series 350  
1934 Packard 1104 Super Eight  
1934 Packard 1108 Twelve  
1935 Packard 1201 Eight  
1935 Packard Twelve  
1935 Pierce Arrow 1245 Twelve  
1937 Cord 812  
1937 Packard 1508 Twelve  
1938 Packard 1601 Eight  
1933 Packard 1005 Twelve  
1935 Cadillac Model 370-D Series 40  
1937 Chrysler Imperial Series C-15  
1941 Chrysler Town and Country  
1929 Duesenberg Model J Murphy  
1933 Duesenberg Model SJ  
1934 Duesenberg Model J  
1934 Duesenberg Model SJ  
1935 Duesenberg Model JN  
1908 Rolls-Royce Silver Ghost  
1910 Rolls-Royce Silver Ghost  
1914 Rolls-Royce Silver Ghost  
1915 Rolls-Royce 40/50 HP Silver Ghost  
1923 Rolls-Royce Silver Ghost  
1929 Rolls-Royce Phantom I  
1931 Rolls-Royce Phantom I  
1931 Rolls-Royce Phantom II  
1937 Rolls-Royce Phantom III  
1956 Rolls-Royce Phantom IV  
1961 Rolls-Royce Phantom V  
1962 Rolls-Royce Phantom V  
1966 Rolls-Royce Phantom V  
1970 Rolls-Royce Phantom VI  
1927 Mercedes-Benz 630K  
1937 Mercedes-Benz 540K  
1938 Mercedes-Benz 540K  
1939 Mercedes-Benz Type 320  
1941 Mercedes-Benz 770 W150  
1929 Bentley 6½-Liter  
1929 Hispano Suiza H6B  
1931 Bugatti Type 50  
1931 Delage D8  
1936 Delage D6-70  
1936 Delahaye Type 135  
1937 Bentley 4¼ Liter  
1937 BMW 328  
1937 Delage D8 120  
1938 Delahaye Type 135  
1939 Lagonda V12  
1937 Bugatti Type 57  
1937 Bugatti Type 57SC Atalante  
1938 Talbot-Lago T23