Concorso Italiano

Concorso Italiano August 2015
Concorso Italiano is synonymous with Italian car excellence and embraces many of the cultural elements of Italian style, including cuisine, music, and fashion. This year, Concorso celebrated its 30th anniversary. It was also the year of the Ferrari Club of America national meet being held in Monterey. The Pacific Region chapter hosted this year, and as such there was a massive influx of Ferrari owners who joined in both 'Monterey Car Week' and the FCA National Meet.

Along with Italian marques, Concorso also had a special display of eclectic cars that have a tie to Italy, such as those built outside of Italy, but designed by Italian designers.

Iso Grifo
This year's Concorso Italiano celebrated the fifty years of Iso Grifo, a car that had Corvette power, fashionable Bertone styling and Milanese flair. It was one of the best all-around sporting GT car available and a worthy competitor to the most pedigreed European marques. Only 471 examples were built, and only a handful made it across the Atlantic. Sitting amongst many other Iso's on Concorso's well-manicured lawn were the first Iso and the last.

The Ferrari 250 GTE
About every ten years many of owners of the Ferrari 250 GT/E model gather at Concorso for a reunion. With over 25 examples of the 250 GTE and 330 America on display, it may have been the largest reunion of this model since the cars left the factory.

The 250 series of sports cars was Ferrari's most successful early line of vehicles, with several variants produced for over a decade from 1953 to 1964. The most celebrated 250 is the 1962 250 GTO, a true supercar that spawned numerous imitators. The 250 was eventually replaced by the 275 and the 330.

The Ferrari 250GTE was a new type of vehicle for Ferrari and one they hoped would appeal to a wider audience and could rival a sector of the market dominated by marques such as Maserati and Aston Martin. This was Ferrari's first series-production four-seater. The 250GTE 2+2 made its appearance in prototype form at the 1960 Le Mans 24-Hour Race, where it served as the Race Director's car. Its official world premiere followed later that year at the Paris Salon.

In true Maranello fashion, the Pininfarina designed 250GTE was an elegant and sporty Grand Tourer. Over the years, it would progress through three series, with changes being confined mainly to the front and rear lighting arrangements. Production continued until 1963, during which time 950 examples were produced. It was the most popular and commercially successful Ferrari to date.

The Lamborghini Diablo
This year, the Lamborghini Diablo celebrated its 25th anniversary. The name Diablo is Spanish meaning 'devil' and was borrowed from a type of legendary bull raised by the Duke of Veragua in the 19th century. The Diablo was introduced in 1990 and served as a worthy heir of the renowned Miura and Countach. Its body once again took shape under Marcello Gandini's pencil which, in this case too, included the infamous scissor doors. One year later, with the Diablo VT (Visco Traction) Lamborghini launched the first permanent four-wheel drive super car on the market, making its 500 HP even easier to tame – and other, more powerful models followed its success.

Mr. Ted Johnson of Ocean Ridge, Florida took home Best of Show with his 1961 Ferrari 250 SWB. In the Alfa Romeo category, Steve Yu took home 1st place honors with his 1964 Giulia Spider Veloce. The 1969 Mangusta prototype owned by Jeff Cobb earned 1st in the DeTomaso category. The 1958 Abarth Zagato owned by Perry & Nancy Solomon was 1st in the Fiat category. The most deserving Iso & Bizzarrini car on the show field was the 1967 Iso Grifo owned by Chris Schlander. Richard Mulke Jr.'s 1965 350 GT was 1st in the Lamborghini group and the 1993 Delta Integrale HF Evo 1 owned by McCallum was awarded 1st in the Lancia group. A 1974 Frua Quattroporte owned by the Riverside International Auto Museum was awarded 1st in the Maserati group.


1959 Alfa Romeo Giulietta  
1960 Alfa Romeo Giulietta Spider  
1961 Alfa Romeo Giulietta Sprint Speciale  
1962 Alfa Romeo Giulietta  
1963 Alfa Romeo Giulia 1600 Series 105  
1964 Alfa Romeo Giulia Series 101  
1964 Alfa Romeo TZ1  
1967 Alfa Romeo Duetto 1600  
1967 Alfa Romeo Giulia  
1969 Alfa Romeo 1750 GT Veloce  
1972 Alfa Romeo 2000 GTV  
1972 Alfa Romeo Junior Zagato 1600  
1973 Alfa Romeo GT Veloce  
1973 Alfa Romeo Junior Zagato 1600  
1973 Alfa Romeo Spider Veloce  
1974 Alfa Romeo 2000 Spider Veloce  
1984 Alfa Romeo GTV-6  
1986 Alfa Romeo Spider Graduate  
1987 Alfa Romeo Spider Veloce  
1993 Alfa Romeo 164  

1969 DeTomaso Mangusta  
1971 DeTomaso Pantera  
1972 DeTomaso Pantera  
1973 DeTomaso Pantera II  

1952 Ferrari 212/225 Inter  
1959 Ferrari 250 GT  
1961 Ferrari 250 GTE  
1962 Ferrari 250 GTE  
1963 Ferrari 250 GTE  
1963 Ferrari 330 America  
1966 Ferrari 275 GTS  
1967 Ferrari 330 GTC  
1967 Ferrari 365 GT  
1970 Ferrari Dino 246 GT  
1971 Ferrari 365 Daytona  
1971 Ferrari 365 GTC  
1971 Ferrari Dino 246  
1972 Ferrari 246 Dino  
1972 Ferrari 365 GTB/4  
1973 Ferrari 246 Dino  
1975 Ferrari 308 GT4  
1979 Ferrari 308 GT4  
1983 Ferrari 308  
1984 Ferrari 308 GTS  
1985 Ferrari 308 Quattrovalvole  
1987 Ferrari 328 GTS  
1988 Ferrari 328 GTS  
1989 Ferrari 328 GTS  
1991 Ferrari Mondial T  
1995 Ferrari F355  
1995 Ferrari F50  
1997 Ferrari 550 Maranello  
1997 Ferrari F355  
2007 Ferrari 430 Scuderia  
2009 Ferrari 430 Scuderia  

1958 Fiat 600 Multipla  
1971 Fiat 124  
1971 Fiat 850  
1972 Fiat 124  
1979 Fiat X1/9  
1986 Fiat X 1/9  
1988 Fiat Bertone X1/9  

1963 ISO Grifo A3/L  
1964 ISO Rivolta  
1973 ISO Lele  
1974 ISO Grifo  

1965 Lamborghini 350 GT  
1972 Lamborghini Espada 400 GTE  
1974 Lamborghini Espada 400 GT  
1983 Lamborghini Jalpa P350 GTS  
1987 Lamborghini Countach  
1991 Lamborghini Diablo  
1994 Lamborghini Diablo VT  
1997 Lamborghini Diablo  
2001 Lamborghini Diablo VT 6.0  
2006 Lamborghini Gallardo  
2008 Lamborghini Gallardo  
2010 Lamborghini Murciélago LP 670-4 SuperVeloce  
2013 Lamborghini Gallardo LP 560-4  
2014 Lamborghini Aventador LP 700-4  
2014 Lamborghini Gallardo LP 550-2  
2014 Lamborghini Huracán LP 610-4  
2015 Lamborghini Huracán  

1960 Lancia Appia  
1965 Lancia Flavia 1800  
1977 Lancia Scorpion  
1993 Lancia Delta Integale Evo I  

1962 Maserati 3500 GTi  
1966 Maserati Mistral  
1969 Maserati Ghibli  
1977 Maserati Merak  
2003 Maserati Spyder  
2004 Maserati GranSport Coupe  
2005 Maserati Spyder  
2009 Maserati GranTurismo S  
2011 Maserati GranTurismo MC  

Vehicle information, history, And specifications from concept to production.
Follow ConceptCarz on Facebook Follow ConceptCarz on Twitter RSS News Feed
© 1998-2021 Reproduction Or reuse prohibited without written consent.