The 8C 2900 Alfa Romeo was among the fastest production cars of its day. Powered by an 2905cc/180 HP DOHC inline eight-cylinder supercharged engine, they were tough to beat on racing circuits throughout the world. Combined with a Superleggera (super lightweight) chassis and cloaked in equally beautiful coachwork from Touring of Milan, Italy, the 2900 has become among the most sought after cars. Available in both short- and long-wheelbase versions and in a variety of bodystyles, records indicate that a total of 32 2.9-liter Alfas were produced from 1935-1939.
Derived from the 1936 8C 2900A, the 1938 2900B is the refined offspring of a grand champion. Under the long and elegant hood is an engine with a racing heritage, the supercharged 2.9 liter straight eight with dual camshafts, dual magnetos and dry sump oiling. It produces 180 horsepower through a four-speed gearbox. On the track, the 2900 competition cars became the most successful of their time, testament to Alfa's racing experience. A trio of 2900As placed first-second-third at the 1936 Mille Miglia, while three more achieved the same results in 1938.
Carrozzeria Touring, one of Italy's finest coach builders provided most of the bodies for the 2900B. Just 30 examples were produced; each somewhat unique. After producing six Spyder bodies on the shorter Corto chassis, Touring produced another set of Spyders on the longer Lungo chassis. The Spyder was particularly graceful in silhouette, longer and decidedly more elegant than the shorter Corto. A soft top was provided, but didn't offer any side-window protection except for chassis 412023 which had full-size side windows. Just seven Lungo Spyders were built.
The 2900 chassis was prepared similar to the competition cars with twin trailing arms up front and swing-arm suspension in the rear with both friction and hydraulic shocks. The engine was similar to the Tipo B unit but made from new castings in aluminum instead of magnesium.
The early history of this car is unknown. The first documented sighting of it was in Cairo, Egypt, in 1942, most likely in the hands of a diplomat. From there, it has had numerous owners in both Europe and the United States. Its restoration was completed in 1995 and it has been in the collection of its current owner since December of 2008.