Tyrrell 011

The Tyrrell racing team was founded by Ken Tyrrell and competed in Formula One competition (and other Formula events) from 1958 through 1998. When it was first formed in 1958, it raced in Formula Three competition. Ken drove during the 1958 season but resigned those duties to others more qualified for the following seasons.

The Tyrrell 011 was raced during the 1982 and 1983 season in F1 competition. The vehicle was entered in 64 races where it achieved two wins and acquired 38 Championship points. There was only one 'Did Not Start' and 23 'Did Not Finish'. The example shown is powered by a Ford Cosworth DFV engine (DFY). The V8 engine is capable of producing 530 horsepower and is matted to a Hewland FGA five-speed manual gearbox. The Cosworth/Ford engines had been used in Formula 1 competition from 1967 through 1983 and retains the title as the most winning engine to power F1 racers in history.

In 1983, Benetton signed up as sponsor for the Tyrrell 011 racer.
By Daniel Vaughan | Jan 2007

Tyrrell Models