1968 McLaren M12

With the introduction of the Can-Am racing series in 1966, New Zealander, Bruce McLaren, made the decision to enter the competition. Their first Can-Am racer was the McLaren M1B which had a tubular frame and powered by an Oldsmobile engine. For 1967, Team McLaren created the M6A and chose a Chevrolet 6-liter V8 as its source of power. With Bruce McLaren and Denny Hulme in the drivers position, the McLaren cars would dominate the CanAm series for the next five years. Privateers also raced McLaren vehicles during this time but they were at a disadvantage as the team sold their used cars at the end of the season.

In 1969 the Can-Am series was now comprised of eleven races. Team McLaren won every race. Denny accounted for five of those wins while Bruce won the other six races and the championship.

For the 1970 season, team McLaren experienced the ultimate tragedy as Bruce McLaren was killed while testing the M8D at Goodwood in England. The team picked up Dan Gurney as the second driver who raced for the team for a short while before being replaced with Peter Gethin. Gurney was replaced due to sponsorship conflicts. The 1970 season was another impressive year for McLaren competition as they won 10 out of the 11 races. Their only loss came at Road Atlanta which had ended the teams 19 Can-Am race winning streak which had transpired over three seasons.

The McLaren M12's were customer cars in 1969 and comprised of a M8A body ontop of a M6B chassis. Famous race car driver, Jim Hall of Chaparral fame, purchased a M12 for use in the 1969 Can-Am Series. The drivers of this car were John Surtees, Andrea DeAdamich, Jerry Titus, Peter Revson and David Hobbs. The vehicles best finish was at the Mosport Can-Am race where it finished in third place.
By Daniel Vaughan | Jan 2007
Recent Vehicle Additions

Mclaren To Showcase Heritage And Contemporary Can-Am Models At Goodwood Festival Of Speed

The Can Am name to join the collection of historic McLaren models to run up the Goodwood Hill this summer br The ultimate McLaren racers of the 1960s and 70s honoured by the most powerful 12C pro...

Can-Am History Roars Back to Life at Spring Classic May 19-21

I The Can Am Series made its last appearance at Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca at the 1973 Monterey Grand Prix Vic Elford 10 in the UOP Shadow was chased through the Corkscrew by winner Mark Donohue 6...

Golden Years of Can-Am Racing Showcased at 2016 Rolex Monterey Motorsports Reunion

I MONTEREY Calif March 9 2016 I Known for its excess is barely adequate reputation the Can Am Series was known for its free wheeling rule interpretations that brought experiments such as big...


MONTEREY Calif July 7 2014 Returning to their familiar home where they ran unbridled in the 60s and early 70s thundering Can Am cars will be a popular group this year at the Rolex Monterey Motorsports...

Sonoma Historic Motorsports Festival Celebrates Can-Am at Sonoma Raceway

More than 350 vintage and historic race cars highlight May 17 18 weekend br George Follmer and Don Nichols are honored guests popular racing seminar set for third year br I SONOMA Calif M...

1967 Can-Am Road America: The Beginning of the 'Bruce and Denny Show'

While Formula One will be forever considered the pinnacle of motorsport from a period between 1966 and 1986 there existed a series that would likely be the closest to anything goes as any motor racing...
1968 Can-Am Drivers Championship
1  Denis Clive 'Denny' Hulme Bruce McLaren Motor Racing McLaren M8A Chevrolet   Chevrolet   35 
2  Bruce Leslie McLaren Bruce McLaren Motor Racing McLaren M8A Chevrolet   Chevrolet   24 
3  Mark Neary Donohue, Jr. Penske Cars McLaren M6B   Chevrolet   23 
4  Jim Hall Chaparral Cars, Midland Texas 2G   Chevrolet   12 
5  Lothar Motschenbacher LeadusDana Chevrolet Racing McLaren M6B  McLaren M6B   Oldsmobile  Chevrolet  Ford   11 
6  John Cannon    10 
7  George Follmer Agapiou Brothers Lola T70 MKIII   Ford  Chevrolet   
8  Jerry Titus    
9  Chuck Parsons Carl Haas Racing Lola T160   Chevrolet   
9  Sam Posey Caldwell AutodynamicsAutodynamics CorporationCaldwell Autodynamics Caldwell D-7  Lola T160  Lola T160   Ford  Chevrolet   
11  George Ross Eaton    
12  Peter Jeffrey Revson Shelby American Racing McLaren M6B   Ford  Chevrolet   
12  David Earl 'Swede' Savage Jr. All American Racers Lola T160  Lola T160  McLaren M6B   Ford   
14  Dick Brown Ecurie Greene Inc McLaren M6B  McLaren M6B   Ford  Chevrolet   
15  Daniel Sexton Gurney All American Racers McLaren M6B  Lola T160   Ford   
15  Charlie Hayes Salyer Racing McKee MK10  McKee MK10   Chevrolet  Oldsmobile   

McLaren Models

© 1998-2018. All rights reserved. The material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Vehicle information, history, and specifications from concept to production.

Follow ConceptCarz on Facebook  Follow ConceptCarz on Twitter RSS News Feed

© 1998-2018 Conceptcarz.com Reproduction or reuse prohibited without written consent.