Double Recognition For Fisker

Company press release.

Double Recognition For FiskerThe Fisker Karma luxury plug-in hybrid has received two more awards recognizing its leading-edge design, advanced technology, and environmental credentials.

Last week, the Karma received a First Prize in the International Design Awards (IDA) competition and a silver trophy for innovation at the Edison Awards. These latest accolades add to the growing number of awards that Fisker Automotive ( is proud to have won during the Karma's debut year.

International Design Awards

The International Design Awards (IDA) exist to celebrate the world's most visionary design, discover new and emerging talent, and promote the appreciation of design worldwide. This year the judging panel of international experts awarded First Prize in the Transportation Competition to the Fisker Karma.

Architects and designers of interiors, high-end fashion luxury products, and graphics submitted entries from more than 65 countries throughout the world. Judging was a rigorous process, with winners to be recognized in print in the prestigious 2013 International Design Awards Book of Designs.

'As a car designer, there's nothing like having your work recognized and appreciated by other people in different disciplines of the same industry,' said Fisker co-founder and executive design director Henrik Fisker. 'We are honored to have the IDA recognize and endorse the sleek and bold design of the Fisker Karma.'

Edison Awards

This year's Edison Awards celebrated its 25th anniversary of honoring the best in innovation and excellence in the development of new products and services, so it was particularly special that Fisker Automotive was voted a silver winner for its Karma luxury plug-in hybrid vehicle.

Trending News

Kia America reports February sales
LG Energy Solution-Honda EV Battery Plant in Ohio Takes 'Leap' Forward as Final Structural Beam Marks Major Construction Milestone
Hyundai Pays Tribute to the African American Community in Commemoration of Black History Month
Freedom of Mobility Forum Gathers Experts with Divergent Views to Debate Future of Mobility
McLaren Walnut Creek celebrates brand new McLaren retail and service facility with showstopping 750S Spider by MSO

An Edison Award is one of the highest accolades a company can receive in the name of innovation and business. Fisker joined hundreds of senior executives from some of the world's most recognized companies at a ceremony in New York to acknowledge the hard work and commitment of all of the 2012 Edison Award winners.

The ballot of nominees for the Edison Awards was judged by a panel of more than 3,000 leading business executives including past award winners, members of the Marketing Executives Networking Group (MENG), academics and leaders in the fields of product development, design, engineering, science and medicine.

Thomas Stat, 2012 Edison Awards Steering Committee Chairman said, 'As the pace of innovation quickens and the 'race to next' becomes ever more competitive, it's increasingly important to take a moment out of our hectic lives to recognize excellence in innovation and greatness in the teams of innovators who make our future. We are honored to present Fisker Automotive with an Edison Award as one of the leading innovators of today and tomorrow.'

'I had the privilege to directly experience the elegance, luxury, and power of the Edison Award-winning 2012 Fisker Karma in New York City. I've never seen so many heads turned from pedestrians and other drivers as the Fisker Karma drove past them,' he added.

Tom LaSorda, Fisker's CEO said, 'Fisker Automotive is an emerging company driven by American innovation. That's why we think it's great that the Karma's bold and disruptive approach has been recognized with an Edison Award, which is often reserved for larger corporations.'

Alongside these latest two awards, in the last few months the Fisker Karma was also named BBC Top Gear's Luxury Car of the Year - the first American car ever to win such an award.The Fisker Karmaalsowon Automobile Magazine's 2012 Design of the Year Award – one of five American cars to win in the award's 23 year history – and was nominated as one of TIME Magazine's 50 Best Inventions of 2011.

posted on

Related Posts