Image credits: © McLaren.

2004 McLaren MP4-19B

The McLaren MP4/19 made its inaugural debut at the Valencia Circuit in Spain. David Coulthard was given the honor of navigating the vehicle around the track. Mounted behind him was a 3-liter, ten-cylinder Mercedes-Benz engine which was matted to a seven-speed McLaren semi-automatic sequential gearbox which drove the rear wheels. In comparison to its predecessor, the MP4/19 had been given significant improvements. Many of the changes were in compliance with the new FIA regulations - the biggest of these changes stated that a single engine was to be used per driver, per race. The Mercedes-Benz engine was built to satisfy the long race weekend which includes practice, qualifying, and the race. The result was a very compact and lightweight unit which improved the vehicles handling and center of gravity.

The start of the year was rather dismal for the McLaren team. As a result, the team quickly began work on an updated version of their racer. The new car was ready well into the season, with seven races already having been contended. The MP4/19B featured slight improvements such as revised rear bodywork and sidepods. The car made its racing debut at the French Grand Prix in Magny Cours. High expectations were placed on the car since it had done so well in practice at the Silverstone track. The car had recorded a second fastest time with Kimi Raikkonen at the wheel and in wet conditions.

At the French Grand Prix, both team drivers were able to score points. The next race was at Silverstone and Raikkonen drove the car fast enough in qualifying to sit in the 'B' position on the pole. At the drop of the checkered flag, the car and driver were in second place which was the teams first podium finish of the season.
By Daniel Vaughan | Feb 2007
Recent Vehicle Additions


I Today officially marks 25 years since the first race was held for Renault UK s Clio Cup motor racing championship I The race took place at Leicestershire s Donington Park circuit on 21 April 1991...

1999 French Grand Prix: Frentzen and Jordan Keep Their Heads to Win

The 1999 French Grand Prix would seemingly be a race in which every driver and spectator would have liked to miss However had that been the case Formula One would have lost one of its most memorable...

120 years of motor sport at Mercedes-Benz take centre stage at the Goodwood Festival of Speed 2014

Addicted to Winning at this year s Goodwood Festival of Speed Mercedes Benz looks back on some fascinating racing victories of the last 120 years The unique motor sport heritage of the Mercedes...

1997 European Grand Prix: A Page from a Father's Book

Twenty two laps from the end of the European Grand Prix and everything was held in the balance Then suddenly Jacques Villeneuve would draw from a page of his father s book and would help to produce...

Techno Classica 2014: more than 30 racing cars to celebrate 120 years of Mercedes-Benz motor racing history

Cars that were the heroes of magical moments put their stamp on this high powered most comprehensive show presentation With more than 30 vehicles Mercedes Benz Classic presents motor racing histor...

 David Marshall Coulthard
 Kimi-Matias Raikkonen

 West McLaren Mercedes

2004 Season
Points: 69
Position: 5
Engine: Mercedes FO 110Q

2005 Entry: MP4-20
2003 Entry: MP4-17D
2002 Entry: MP4-17
2001 Entry: MP4-16
2000 Entry: MP4-15
1997 Entry: MP4/12

McLaren Models

2004 Formula One Season
Scuderia Ferrari MarlboroFerrariF2004 Brazil Rubens Gonçalves 'Rubinho' Barrichello
Germany Michael Schumacher 
Lucky Strike British American Racing HondaBAR
United Kingdom Jenson Alexander Lyons Button
Japan Takuma Sato 
Mild Seven Benetton PlaylifeRenault
Spain Fernando Alonso
Italy Jarno Trulli
Canada Jacques Villeneuve 
BMW WilliamsF1 TeamWilliams
Spain Marc Gené
Colombia Juan Pablo Montoya
Brazil Antonio Reginaldo Pizzonia Jr.
Germany Ralf Schumacher 
West McLaren MercedesMcLaren
United Kingdom David Marshall Coulthard
Finland Kimi-Matias Raikkonen 
Sauber PetronasSauber
Italy Giancarlo Fisichella
Brazil Felipe Massa 
Jaguar RacingJaguar
Austria Christian Klien
Australia Mark Alan Webber 
Panasonic Toyota RacingToyota
Brazil Cristiano Monteiro da Matta
France Olivier Panis
Italy Jarno Trulli
Brazil Ricardo Luiz Zonta 
Jordan FordJordan
Germany Timo Glock
Germany Nick Lars Heidfeld
Italy Giorgio Pantano 
10 Minardi CosworthMinardi
Hungary Zsolt Baumgartner
Italy Gianmaria 'Gimmi' Bruni 

2004 Season Review
RaceCircuitDateWinning DriverConstructor
 Australian Grand Prix  Melbourne Grand Prix CircuitMar 2004  Michael SchumacherFerrari 
 Malaysian Grand Prix  SepangMar 2004  Michael SchumacherFerrari 
 Bahrain Grand Prix  Bahrain International CircuitApr 2004  Michael SchumacherFerrari 
 San Marino Grand Prix  Autodromo Enzo e Dino FerrariApr 2004  Michael SchumacherFerrari 
 Gran Premio de Penya Rhin  Circuit de CatalunyaMay 2004  Michael SchumacherFerrari 
 Monaco Grand Prix  MonacoMay 2004  Jarno TrulliRenault 
 European Grand Prix  NürburgringMay 2004  Michael SchumacherFerrari 
 Canadian Grand Prix  Circuit Gilles VilleneuveJun 2004  Michael SchumacherFerrari 
 United States Grand Prix  IndianapolisJun 2004  Michael SchumacherFerrari 
 French Grand Prix  Magny-CoursJul 2004  Michael SchumacherFerrari 
 British Grand Prix  SilverstoneJul 2004  Michael SchumacherFerrari 
 German Grand Prix  HockenheimringJul 2004  Michael SchumacherFerrari 
 Hungarian Grand Prix  HungaroringAug 2004  Michael SchumacherFerrari 
 Belgian Grand Prix  Circuit de Spa-Francorchamps,Spa,BelgiumAug 2004  Kimi-Matias RaikkonenMcLaren 
 Italian Grand Prix  MonzaSep 2004  Rubens Gonçalves 'Rubinho' BarrichelloFerrari 
 Chinese Grand Prix  ShanghaiSep 2004  Rubens Gonçalves 'Rubinho' BarrichelloFerrari 
 Japanese Grand Prix  Fuji SpeedwayOct 2004  Michael SchumacherFerrari 
 Brazilian Grand Prix  Autódromo José Carlos Pace, InterlagosOct 2004  Juan Pablo MontoyaWilliams 

Formula One World Drivers' Champions
1950 G. Farina
1951 J. Fangio
1952 A. Ascari
1953 A. Ascari
1954 J. Fangio
1955 J. Fangio
1956 J. Fangio
1957 J. Fangio
1958 M. Hawthorn
1959 S. Brabham
1960 S. Brabham
1961 P. Hill, Jr
1962 N. Hill
1963 J. Clark, Jr.
1964 J. Surtees
1965 J. Clark, Jr.
1966 S. Brabham
1967 D. Hulme
1968 N. Hill
1969 S. Stewart
1970 K. Rindt
1971 S. Stewart
1972 E. Fittipaldi
1973 S. Stewart
1974 E. Fittipaldi
1975 A. Lauda
1976 J. Hunt
1977 A. Lauda
1978 M. Andretti
1979 J. Scheckter
1980 A. Jones
1981 N. Piquet
1982 K. Rosberg
1983 N. Piquet
1984 A. Lauda
1985 A. Prost
1986 A. Prost
1987 N. Piquet
1988 A. Senna
1989 A. Prost
1990 A. Senna
1991 A. Senna
1992 N. Mansell
1993 A. Prost
1994 M. Schumacher
1995 M. Schumacher
1996 D. Hill
1997 J. Villeneuve
1998 M. Hakkinen
1999 M. Hakkinen
2000 M. Schumacher
2001 M. Schumacher
2002 M. Schumacher
2003 M. Schumacher
2004 M. Schumacher
2005 F. Alonso
2006 F. Alonso
2007 K. Raikkonen
2008 L. Hamilton
2009 J. Button
2010 S. Vettel
2011 S. Vettel
2012 S. Vettel
2013 S. Vettel
2014 L. Hamilton
2015 L. Hamilton
2016 N. Rosberg
2017 L. Hamilton

McLaren Models

© 1998-2018. All rights reserved. The material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Vehicle information, history, and specifications from concept to production.

Follow ConceptCarz on Facebook  Follow ConceptCarz on Twitter RSS News Feed
© 1998-2018 Reproduction or reuse prohibited without written consent.